World-leading Brisbane researchers recognised

An international expert in intensive care and antibiotics has taken out the top honour at the Metro North Hospital and Health Service 2017 Research Excellence Awards.

Researchers receive award

Professor Scott Bell, Dr Alka Kothari, Professor Jeff Lipman, Dr Jonathon Fanning.

Professor Jeff Lipman was named Researcher of the Year for his extensive and innovative work in the field of antibiotic resistance and championing a culture of research excellence, while Dr Jonathon Fanning is this year’s Rising Star for advancing understanding of the effects of cardiac procedures.

Last night Australia’s largest public health service celebrated its biggest and brightest stars at the forefront of cutting edge and world leading research.

Metro North Hospital and Health Service Chief Executive Adj. Professor Ken Whelan said the Research Excellence Awards recognised achievements made by a range of researchers from across the diverse health service.

“These prestigious awards are now in their second year and saw a significant increase in nominations highlighting our commitment to advancing healthcare through research,” Adj. Professor Whelan said.

“The new Research Support category received twice the number of submissions than any other award, a sign that our researchers appreciate that research is a team effort and their work is valued.”

Executive Director of Research Professor Scott Bell said the awards attracted 74 high calibre nominations over seven categories from Discovery and Innovation to Health Services and Implementation Research.

“The sheer volume of research happening across Metro North is impressive, from evidence-based practice at the bedside, to drug and device trials, through to end-to-end clinical research and knowledge translation,” Professor Bell said.

“Our researchers are the epitome of what bringing ideas to life is all about. They are improving healthcare at all stages of the patient journey and making huge strides in their dedicated expertise. They are turning research outcomes into daily practice which is a challenge faced by both researchers and clinicians around the world.”

Mr Whelan said the judges had a tough job but the winners of each field embodied excellence in their chosen area and are making a significant difference to the lives of patients and the wider community.

2017 Research Excellence Award Winners include:

  • Researcher of the Year: Professor Jeffrey Lipman
  • Rising Star Award: Dr Jonathon Fanning
  • Research Support Award: Dr Alka Kothari
  • Discovery and Innovation  Research Award: Translational Osteoarthritis Research Group
  • Clinical Research Award: Queensland Centre for Gynaecological Cancer Research, Laparoscopic surgery for endometrial cancer
  • Complex Health Challenges Research Award: Obstetric Medicine Research Team
  • Health Services and Implementation Research Award: Kidney Supportive Care Program
  • Chief Executive Award: Brighton Research Advancement Team

“Congratulations to all the winners and highly commended recipients changing healthcare for the lives of people who count on us,” Mr Whelan said.

“As a health service, we are proud of all our researchers and their tireless dedication. Much of their research untaken is outside of clinical hours, away from time spent with family and friends. Thank you.”

For a full list of winners and pictures from the awards, visit the Research Excellence Awards page.

Back to top